party planning

As mentioned previously, I’m an amateur party planner. It’s true – as a child, I spent hours prepping for various themed parties in my parent’s basement, and as an adult I’ve held annual 4th of July backyard get-togethers and new year’s soirees every year until we moved away from all of our friends. Now, as it’s officially been a year since we’ve moved – I’m ready to host my first Charlotte party. The big question – make it small and intimate (think 1 or 2 other couples), or just say to hell with it all and invite all of our friends, even if none of them know each other?

What I have figured out, is that I want to host a fall-themed wine and cheese party… but I’m a little sick of seeing the slate / chalk cheese trays everywhere. I considered going for a tried-and-true decade theme, like the 20’s (really just so I could recycle my dress from 2011’s new years extravaganza), but when I came across this wine tasting bridal shower featured on Style Me Pretty, I decided on a more romantic, classically fall look. I love that this is rustic, yet elegant, with lush bouquets, plum candles and silver platters holding grapes, chocolate and crackers.

all images via style me pretty

If history is any indication, I’m sure I’ll be given a budget for this party, but I think I can recreate the look of it fairly easily with plum and burlap fabric remnants from a craft store, a couple $4 fall bouquets from Trader Joe’s, silver serving pieces from Tuesday Morning or Pier 1, and I’m sure I can find a couple wine decanters there as well.

I’m planning on serving flatbreads via this article from Food & Wine, some roasted grapes, a brie wheel wrapped in a puff pastry, and just because I love puff pastry appetizers, perhaps this one I found the other day while searching for something to make with leftover pancetta.

What do you think? Have you been to any fabulous wine/cheese parties?

2 thoughts on “party planning

Leave a Reply

